Photography 101: Moment


There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again. ~Elizabeth Lawrence

whirling JJ
At the Menorias Garden, Segapod, LDN

Clouds hover above the Menorias Garden around four in the afternoon when we drop by. We (JJ and I) tag along with my mom to the place of Madam Hermie, my mom’s plant buddy. While they discuss about ferns and cacti, my little boy and I wander among the air-plants.

I prepare my cameraphone; auto-flash is off, front camera is on, and timer is set to 5 seconds. With my baby in my right arm and the phone in my left hand, I press that little camera icon at the bottom of my phone’s screen. Simultaneously, our bodies whirl around. We repeat this process five times in between giggles and plant clusters. We feel like garden butterflies admiring the flowers as we enjoy the moment. The photo above is one of the result of my panning experiment.

Leave a Reply

