Seeing floral prints and polka dots


I was brainstorming a dress design for my friend Jessie Cryst (a.k.a. the Purple Lady), an SD Analyst at World Vision Philippines. Though she sent me some photos of various clothing styles via Facebook, I somewhat struggled to grasp what she meant by “something different.” So, I thought of the basics:

  • something fun to match her effervescent personality;
  • something light to wear in this unpredictable Philippine weather;
  • something printed  for a trendy look;
  • and of course, something purple for her signature style. (Yup, this gal owns the color Purple and not the other way around.)
In addition to my dilemma, I was unable to get her current body measurements. Ahh, hindsight! However, I told myself that “If there’s a will…something beautiful will never fail.”

The Flowers-N-Dots Dress

I have to exercise a certain amount of restraint not to litter the dress with something sparkly. However, I did some fabric manipulation — ruching at the front bodice for a divalicious slimming visual effect; smocking at the back bodice for adjustable-size flexibility; and shirring at the skirt for flair. The beaded adjustable straps and matching shrug were the extra form-and function features of the dress… So, fancy wearing it?

P.S. I’ll post a tutorial for this dress soon…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jessie Cryst says:

    wow twinkle! as always u impressed me. d words, d photos as well as d design. i can’t wait to try it on. u really know me. hehehe. thanks a bunch! mwah!

Leave a Reply

