Still in ‘craft mode’ even during brownouts


Rain plus prevailing winds equals brownouts.  That’s often the case here in Tubod, Lanao del Norte and in some neighboring towns during the wet season. However, power failures don’t stop me from crafting something pretty… like this necklace.

DIY Vintage Lace Collar Necklace

First, I decided to use pearls as embellishments for these lustrous organic gems never go out of fashion. They can practically be worn with any dresses.

 Second, I prepared half of a vintage lace collar (I remembered that I appliqued its other half on a DIY bag six years ago), some cultured pearls, and bronze-colored chain and clasp for this project.

Third, I applied a clear glue at the wrong side of the lace collar to make it a bit stiff and let it dry.

Fourth, I attached the chain at both ends of the collar. Last, I beaded the pearls (3 Mikimoto pearls and 14 rice pearls) to the lace using a nylon thread and added some colored rhinestones for a bit of sparkle.

After an hour, this necklace became history.

Leave a Reply

