Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers


Vanda Madame Rattana x Vanda Rung RoengVanda Madame Rattana x Vanda Rung Roeng

Vanda Madame Rattana x Vanda Rung Roeng

Vanda Madame Rattana x Vanda Rung RoengVanda Madame Rattana x Vanda Rung Roeng

Patience is a virtue, they say. So, it took me tons of patience and more than a day to respond to this week’s photo challenge.  After sifting through a thousand flower-photographs,  I finally decided to post the flowers of the orchid called Vanda Madame Rattana x Vanda Rung Roeng.

This plant is a testimony of patience;  gardeners and botanists waited 16 long years to see the flowers of this particular hybrid Vanda.  I guess it’s worth the wait… for this first-time bloomer shows off beautiful 14 large flat petals (about 4 1/2 inches wide!). I just couldn’t help but notice the lips of the flowers while I’m snapping photos… they look like alien-ladies looking amused at what I’m doing.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Connie T says:

    Nice colors of flowers.

  2. Beautiful petals. Love the colors. Great photos.

    1. kyuni786 says:

      thank you…I had a difficult time choosing which photos to post..

  3. Maggie L R says:

    These photos are stunning. well done.

  4. Nice pictures and post. Patience isn’t one of my virtues. I like orchids and I buy them fully in bloom. I have a friend who is serious about gardening in general and orchids in particular. She spent 3 years nurturing, what looked like, a stick before being rewarded with a tiny wispy flower.

  5. Those Vandas are gorgeous. It used to be a rare , priced jewel from the rich rainforest but thanks to modern technology, everyone can have a piece on that jewel in their home. great pictures. purple and pretty!

Leave a Reply

